Awareness Wednesday: Inspiration

As a client and current consultant to SWH, Josefina has truly embraced a tool I use to guide all those here to realize their optimal potential in every way.

Read her story, I venture to say there are two more “P’s” she used as well, Progress not Perfection and Prayer.

-Stephanie Solaris

This week’s Awareness Wednesday is a little more personal… What can I say? The Thanksgiving weekend and starting a new stage in my life have made me pretty introspective. Plus, you don’t really have that much of a say: This week is about me!

I graduated from college in May of 2009 and just started my first full-time job this week. I couldn’t be happier with the way things turned out, but the past year and a half has definitely had its highs and lows. The most valuable thing that I learned during my journey to health at Solaris Whole Health and my new job was the importance of the three P’s: practice, patience, persistence.

  • Practice: This is the simplest P to achieve, but it’s also the first to be forgotten. During my journey, I found myself talking a lot about things I was going to do—apply to a certain job, get in touch with a certain person, adopt a healthier lifestyle. However, I didn’t always follow through because of fear or complacency or some other excuse. Goal setting can be invaluable but it’s pointless unless you’re taking the necessary steps to get where you want to be, regardless of how small they may seem. Keep your eye on the prize.
  • Patience: I didn’t get my dream job right after graduation, but maybe the timing wasn’t right for me. If I had jumped into something that wasn’t a good fit, I would have missed out on wonderful experiences that I wouldn’t trade for the world now: spending time with family and friends, WWOOFing in Italy, and working with Stephanie and Diana. I had the opportunity to prioritize and figure out what is important to me personally and professionally… something I wasn’t too sure of last May and didn’t realize at the time. Good things come to those who wait.
  • Persistence: There were a number of times during my journey that I lost motivation. After dozens of things not working out the way I anticipated, I occasionally questioned myself and whether my journey was worth the effort. Sometimes I would take a couple of days (or weeks in Italy) as a breather to remind myself of the small victories and that I wasn’t going to achieve anything by complaining or feeling sorry for myself. The more you try, the higher the chances of something working in your favor. If at first you don’t succeed, try, try again.

I feel as though I have grown in many respects since I started my job search and self-discovery journey and I don’t think I would change a thing.

You can’t always get what you want,
But if you try sometimes, you just might find
You get what you need.

Leave a Reply

