Road Trip USA: Nutrition Edition [Day 6]

Day 6 – Monday, October 26
Saint George, UT to Los Angeles, CA
6 hours in the car


The hotel food selection was sub par in the gluten-free department once again, so I ate a hard-boiled egg and a snack bar for breakfast as we hit the road. On the drive through Las Vegas, Katie and I spotted signs for the World’s best Gyros at The Mad Greek in Baker, California and we are determined to find out whether or not this is true.

I tried the Gyro on a Greek salad, and while the portion was enormous and pretty tasty, it was a bit pricey for fast food and I’ve had better. So much for the World’s best Gyro… there’s a lot to live up to when you make such a bold statement.

From there it was a quick drive to Los Angeles where Katie dropped me off so that I could spend a few days with my cousin, his wife, and their three young boys before I headed down to San Diego. They showed me around the area and then took me to West Coast staple In-N-Out.

I had a “Protein Style” hamburger (lettuce around the burger instead of the bun) and french fries. They cut the potatoes right in front of you and there’s no gluten because nothing else at In-N-Out is fried. It was delicious!

Leave a Reply

